Skip to main content
Header Image


The Marsh Award for Early Career Entomologist.

THE MARSH AWARD FOR EARLY CAREER ENTOMOLOGIST - in conjunction with the Marsh Christian Trust, who fund the prize
Award CriteriaFor an early career contribution to Entomological Science that is judged to be outstanding or exemplary with single or ongoing impact on the science. The Award is 'open' and not restricted to any particular discipline or specialised area of entomological science.
Prize£1000 and Certificate.
EligibilityAny person whose work, or contribution, meets the Criteria. There are no geographic restrictions.
CycleAnnual; nominations accepted until 31st December in any year, winner announced early in following year.
AdjudicationBy a panel consisting of, the President, two senior Fellows and the Chairman or representative of the Marsh Christian Trust.
EntryBy letter of nomination from a Fellow of the Society, or, a person of standing in the field of entomological science. Additional letters of support welcome. The nomination should give as full a profile of the nominee as is possible with special emphasis on relevance to the Award Criteria. All entries to the Registrar at the Mansion House. It is a condition of entry that the winner of the Award shall attend the annual Ento (or other nominated) meeting to receive it, at the Society's expense.
Further informationLink to Website
LeafletClick here to download leaflet


2016 winner

Chris Hassall FRES, University of Leeds

2015 winner

David George FRES, Stockbridge Technology Centre. (Editor of the RES bulletin Antenna)
Dr David George won this award for his contribution to entomological science, primarily made in the fields of veterinary and agricultural pest management, and promotion of beneficial insects on farmland. David is Director of Entomology & Sustainable Agriculture at Stockbridge Technology Centre and is a Fellow, Trustee and Hon. Reg. Sec. of the Royal Entomological Society, also co-editing the Society's member's bulletin, Antenna. He has been involved in collaborative research in both the UK and overseas, publishing some 35 papers in peer-reviewed journals and disseminating his work widely to public, academic and industry audiences.

2014 winner

Donald A'Bear, Cardiff University.

2013 winner

Tom Oliver, Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, is the second recipient of this award.

2012 winner

Mrs Jenni Stockan, The James Hutton Institute, is the first recipient of this award.