Skip to main content
Header Image

 

Meetings

2016/17 Meetings and dates

16 December 2016

Infection & Immunity Special Interest Group Meeting

Venue: Emmanuel College, Cambridge

Convenors: Frank Jiggins fmj1001@cam.ac.uk , Alexandre Leitão, Sinead English

2017 Proposed meetings

Dates to be confirmed

Arthropod Cuticle SIG - Jan 2017 St Albans.
Electronic and Computing Technology SIG - last quarter of 2017
Insect Conservation SIG - Spring 2017
Insect Parasitoids SIG - Spring 2017, St Albans
Taxonomy SIG - early 2017, London

2nd & 3rd February 2017

2017 PG Forum

Venue: Sheffield University
Convenors: Scott Dwyer s.dwyer@warwick.ac.uk , Vicki Senior vsenior1@sheffield.ac.uk

22 February 2017

2017 Northern Meeting and Meeting of The Post-Harvest Special Interest Group

Venue: Stockbridge Technology Centre, Cawood, YO8 3TZ

Convenors: Dr David George, Dr Jennifer Banfield-Zanin, Dr Maureen Wakefield, Prof Steve Belmain

1 March 2017

Verrall Lecture

Venue: Flett lecture theatre, Natural History Museum, London
Time: 4pm refreshments, lecture 4:30 - 5:30pm

Dr George McGavin, Honorary Research Associate at Oxford University Museum of Natural History and The Department of Zoology of Oxford University. Television presenter and explorer.

"Tales from Television: an entomologist's perspective"
Since leaving the world of academia, I have had the chance to travel the world to encounter all manner of wonderful species while making programmes for television. In this lecture we take a 'behind the scenes' look at some of the highs and lows of bringing the lives of insects to a wider audience.

10 March 2017

Entomophagy Special Interest Group Meeting
Convenor: Peter Smithers p.smithers@plymouth.ac.uk
Venue: Cambridge

25 April 2017

3rd Annual Forest Insects and their Allies meeting

Venue: FERA Science Ltd, York

16 May 2017

Insect Genomics Special Interest Group Meeting

Venue: Rothamsted Research, Harpenden, Herts
Convenors: Ramiro Morales-Hojas, Martin Williamson

17 May 2017

Insect Ecology and Medical & Veterinary Special Interest Groups meeting

"Vector Ecology"

Venue: Linnean Society, London
Convenor: Mike Bonsall michael.bonsall@zoo.ox.ac.uk

2 July 2017

Insect Festival 2017
Venue: Yorkshire Museum Gardens and Hospitium

 12-14 September 2017

Ento '17 Annual National Science Meeting and International Symposium

"Entomological Networks: Ecology, Behaviour & Evolution"

Venue: Herschel Bulding, Newcastle University, Newcastle upon Tyne.
Symposium speakers:
Lars Chittka (QMUL), Sheena Cotter (Lincoln), Markus Eichhorn (Nottingham), Mathieu Lihoreau   
(Toulouse), David Shuker (St Andrews), Allen Moore (Georgia), Yoshifumi Yamawaki (Kyushu), Ramiro Morales-Hojas (Rothamsted Research)

Convenors: Gordon Port gordon.port@newcastle.ac.uk , Darren Evans darren.evans@ncl.ac.uk , James Gilbert james.gilbert@hull.ac.uk

24 October 2017

Insect Pollination Special Interest Group Meeting

Venue: National Museum of Scotland, Edinburgh
Convenors: Mike Garratt m.p.garratt@reading.ac.uk , Jenni Stockan jenni.stockan@hutton.ac.uk
Confirmed speakers:
Dr Adam Vanbergen, NERC Centre for Ecology & Hydrology

Dr Lorna Cole, SRUC

1 November 2017

Orthoptera Special Interest Group Meeting
Venue: Neil Chalmers Room, Natural History Museum, London
Convenor: Bjorn Beckmann orthoptera@ceh.ac.uk