Skip to main content
Login Basket

Alfred Russel Wallace Award

Award Criteria For post-graduates who have been awarded a PhD, and whose work is considered by their supervisory team to be outstanding. The research involved should be a significant contribution to the science of entomology.
Prize First prize: £800 plus Certificate, plus one years free Membership to the Royal Entomological Society. The winner will also be required to present their work at a major Society meeting (all expenses paid) and submit an article to Antenna.
Runners-up: Up to four runners-up will have their names and abstracts published in Antenna.
Eligibility All post-graduates who have been awarded a PhD degree, on the basis of a thesis written in the English language, within the period 1st October 2018 - 31st December 2019.
Closing date The closing date for entry is 31st December 2019. Winners will be announced in the Spring 2020 edition of Antenna and on the RES website..
The Judges The judges' panel will consist of a group of senior Fellows of the Royal Entomological Society. The judges decision is final.

The candidate's supervisor or external examiner should complete the entry form (link below), have it signed by the Head of Department, append a copy of the abstract of the thesis, and send it to;
The Registrar
Royal Entomological Society,
The Mansion House,
Chiswell Green Lane,
St Albans,
Herts, AL2 3NS.


Please do not send the thesis itself until requested to do so.

The candidate will at that stage be asked to provide a 500 word statement expressing in layman's terms the contribution that their work has made to entomology and selected entries will be asked to submit their theses.

Following thesis submission, up to 5 candidates will be invited to The Mansion House in person (UK travel will be paid), or virtually if not UK-based, to deliver a 20 minute presentation and engage in a 20 minute question/answer session with the judges.
Entry Form - Wallace Award application form


Further information

Link to Alfred Russel Wallace website


2018 Winner

Dr Patrick Rohner

"An Integrative Study of Patterns and Processes Driving Sexual Dimorphism and Life-History Evolution in Diptera and Other Insects"

2017 Winner

Dr Callum J. Macgregor

'The role of moths as pollinators, and the effects of environmental change.'

2016 winner 

Dr Rebijith Kayattukandy Balan

'Molecular approaches in identification, diversity and management of important insect vectors, Thrips palmi Karay (Thysanoptera) and Aphis gossypi Glover (Hemptera).'

Related Sites