Skip to main content
Login Basket

Following the latest government announcement concerning the current Covid-19 pandemic the Society headquarters at Mansion House has now closed.

Where possible emails will be monitored, any urgent enquiries should be forwarded to

Membership applications will be put on hold until further notice.

Our "identify that insect" service will continue, but our Director of Science cannot accept any physical samples to inspect during this time.

Our Librarian will not have access to our collections from home, but will be happy to try and locate references available to download from the internet.

All events and meetings have been cancelled until further notice

We hope that everyone stays well and we hope that normal business can resume soon for everyone, thank you for your understanding during this difficult time that the world finds itself in.

Kirsty Whiteford - Registrar

J.O. Westwood Medal

Award Criteria

The best comprehensive taxonomic work on a group of insects, or, related arthropods (including terrestrial and freshwater hexapods, myriapods, arachnids and their relatives). Typically, this will be a taxonomic revision or monograph. Open to authors from any country who demonstrate the highest standards of descriptive taxonomy in the work nominated.


Prize A specially struck silver gilt medal inscribed with the winners name and a £1,000.00 prize. Also costs incurred in attending the International Congress of Entomology, European Congress of Entomology, or other major meeting (specified by the adjudicators) to present their work.
Eligibility Any individual or group whose work meets the criteria and who is/are living at the time the work is submitted for consideration.
Cycle Annual, entries accepted up to 30th September in the year preceding the awarding year.
Adjudication By a selection panel consisting of senior and international RES Fellows.
Entry By nominating letter from the author(s) themselves or other nominator, accompanied by two letters of support and four copies of the work, sent to, Westwood Medal, Royal Entomological Society, The Mansion House, Chiswell Green Lane, St Albans, Herts, AL2 3NS, UK, or electronically to

Previous winners:-

2008 - Dr Marianne Horak (Inaugural)

2010 - Dr Art Borkent

2012 - Dr James S. Miller

2014 - Professor Lee Herman

2016 - Dr Adam Slipinski & Dr Hermes Escalona

2018 - Frank H. Hennemann, Oskar V. Conle, Paul D. Brock & Francis Seow-Choen

2019 - Dr Jason P. W. Hall

2020 - Professor Brett C. Ratcliffe and Dr Ronald D. Cave

Related Sites