Skip to main content
Login/Create account Basket

The Wigglesworth Memorial Lecture and Award

Award criteria For outstanding services to the science of Entomology. The award will be made to a researcher who has contributed outstanding work to the science and who best reflects Sir Vincent Wigglesworth's standards of personal involvement in every aspect of his/her research.
Prize A specially struck gilt medal inscribed with the winners name. Also the costs of attending the International Congress of Entomology to give the Wigglesworth Lecture. The next Award will be presented at ICE 2020 Helsinki Finland
Eligibility Letter of nomination accompanied by at least two letters of support. Typically, the nomination will be in favour of eminent internationally known researchers.
Cycle Every 4 years.
Adjudication By RES Council, who, may consult with the presidents of major entomological societies.
Entry Nominations to be submitted to the Registrar 24 months before the I.C.E. Winner will be notified no less that 12 months before the I.C.E.

Previous winners:- 

1996 - Peter Lawrence

2000 - Michael Locke

2004 - Ken Davey

2008 - Jim Truman

2012 - Stephen J. Simpson, University of Sydney

2016 - John G. Hildebrand, University of Arizona

2020 - Professor Janet Hemingway, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

Related Sites