My account Basket

Details and previous winners of the Alfred Russel Wallace Award.

Award topicDescription
Award criteriaFor post-graduates who have been awarded a PhD, and whose work is considered by their supervisory team to be outstanding. The research involved should be a significant contribution to the science of entomology.

First prize: £800 plus Certificate, plus one years free Membership to the Royal Entomological Society. The winner will also be required to present their work at a major Society meeting (all expenses paid) and submit an article to Antenna.

Runners-up: Up to four runners-up will have their names and abstracts published in Antenna.

EligibilityAll post-graduates who have been awarded a PhD degree, on the basis of a thesis written in the English language, within the period 1st October 2021 – 31st December 2023.
Closing dateThe closing date for entry is 31st December 2023. Winners will be announced in the Spring 2023 edition of Antenna and on the RES website.
The judgesThe judges’ panel will consist of a group of senior Fellows of the Royal Entomological Society. The judges decision is final.

The candidate’s supervisor or external examiner should complete the entry form (here), have it electronically signed by the Head of Department, attach with a copy of the abstract of the thesis, and send it to

Please do not send the thesis itself until requested to do so.

The candidate will at that stage be asked to provide a 500 word statement expressing in layman’s terms the contribution that their work has made to entomology and selected entries will be asked to submit their theses. Following thesis submission, up to 5 candidates will be invited to The Mansion House in person (UK travel will be paid), or virtually, to deliver a 20 minute presentation and engage in a 20 minute question/answer session with the judges.

Alfred Russel Wallace Award application form

Further information about WallaceAlfred Russel Wallace website

2019 Winner

Dr Jesamine Bartlett

“Ecophysiology & ecological impacts of Eretmoptera murphy”

2018 Winner

Dr Patrick Rohner

“An Integrative Study of Patterns and Processes Driving Sexual Dimorphism and Life-History Evolution in Diptera and Other Insects”

2017 Winner

Dr Callum J. Macgregor

‘The role of moths as pollinators, and the effects of environmental change.’

2016 Winner

Dr Rebijith Kayattukandy Balan

‘Molecular approaches in identification, diversity and management of important insect vectors, Thrips palmi Karay (Thysanoptera) and Aphis gossypi Glover (Hemptera).’

See also