My account Basket

Enter our writing competition for students.

The 2024 writing competition is open for entries from all students, the deadline is 31 December 2024.

Award topicDescription
Award criteriaAny article about an entomological topic that would be of interest to the general public. The article should be easy to read, in a popular style and no longer than 800 words (not including any reference list).
PrizeWinner £400, runner up £300, both articles published in ‘Antenna’.
EligibilityUndergraduates and postgraduates on both full and part-time study, anywhere in the world.
CycleAnnual, entries accepted until 31st December, winner/s announced early in the following year.
AdjudicationThree Fellows of the Society.
EntryEmail with essay attached as Microsoft Word file, plus:
– your name and address (with postcode)
– the name and address (with postcode) of your academic institution
– your Student Identification (either copy of student ID card or letter from institution)

2023 winners

1st Prize – Juan Carlos Cambronero-Heinrichs, Univerisity of Padua, Italy. “Reclaiming mariola‘s wings” 

2nd Prize – Eric Jackson, Columbia University, United States. “A God on Six Legs

3rd Prize – Altrim Mamuti, Columbia University, United States. “From Freedom to Boxes: A Journey Unchecked

2022 winners

1st Prize – Duran Nanson, Harper Adams University. “Could the pygmy hog-sucking louse be the new mascot of conservation?

2nd Prize – Alexander Wellington, Cardiff University. “Maggots: we deserve equal respect

3rd Prize – Gaia Mortier, University of Reading. “To Flea or Not To Flea: The Curious History of Flea Circuses

2021 winners

1st Prize – Leah Fitzpatrick, Oxford Brookes University. “British Press Association vs the Noble False Widow spider

2nd Prize – Ashley Dear, Harper Adams University. “‘Bio’-Mimicry Is the Highest Form of Flattery

3rd Prize – Amy Farrow, Harper Adams University. “Choose your own evolutionary pathway’ – a brief exploration of the evolution and diversity of four major insect orders

2020 winners

1st Prize – Zeke Rowe, University of Bristol. “Fighting on a miniature front

2nd Prize – Jennifer Newell, Harper Adams University. “Bug Business

3rd Prize – Robin Hutchinson, University of Reading. “Work smarter, not harder: The parasitic plan of the cuckoo bumblebee queen

2019 winners

1st Prize – Christina Conroy, University of Greenwich. “The ANTicipation for a trip which BLOWed

2nd Prize – Amy Carter, Harper Adams University “The Long-Lost Tale of the Mother Earwig

3rd Prize – Rebecca Sim Shu Yu, Royal Veterinary College “Mozzy’s Christmas Wishes

2019 runners up

Three runners up were awarded:

2018 winners

1st Prize – Tara Sedgwick, Harper Adams University “Plenty of Insects

2nd Prize – Abigail Enston, Harper Adams University “Zombie Antpocalypse

3rd Prize – Faith Akinyi Obange, University of Nairobi “An unlikely ally: The greater waxmoth to the rescue…again?

2018 runners up

Two runners up were awarded:

2017 winners

1st Prize – James Fage, Harper Adams University. “Toxic teamwork and the Müllerian mimicry mystery

2nd Prize – Maggie Gill, Harper Adams University. “A sad day at the office

3rd Prize – Rhiannon Dowling, Imperial College London. “1 Star Bee & Bee Review

2017 runners up

Two runners up were awarded:

See also