My account Basket

Details and previous winners of the J.O. Westwood Medal.

Award topicDescription
Award criteriaThe best comprehensive taxonomic work on a group of insects, or, related arthropods (including terrestrial and freshwater hexapods, myriapods, arachnids and their relatives). Typically, this will be a taxonomic revision or monograph. Open to authors from any country who demonstrate the highest standards of descriptive taxonomy in the work nominated.
PrizeA specially struck silver gilt medal inscribed with the winners name and a £1,000.00 prize. Also costs incurred in attending the International Congress of Entomology, European Congress of Entomology, or other major meeting (specified by the adjudicators) to present their work.
EligibilityAny individual or group whose work meets the criteria and who is/are living at the time the work is submitted for consideration.
CycleAnnual, entries accepted up to 30th September in the year preceding the awarding year.
AdjudicationBy a selection panel consisting of senior and international RES Fellows.
EntryBy nominating letter from the author(s) themselves or other nominator, accompanied by two letters of support and four copies of the work, sent to, Westwood Medal, Royal Entomological Society, The Mansion House, Chiswell Green Lane, St Albans, Herts, AL2 3NS, UK, or electronically to
David J Clarke
Research Associate, Department of Biological Sciences
University of Memphis
David J Clarke
Research Associate, Department of Biological Sciences
University of Memphis

2022 winners

David J Clarke Ph.D., Duane McKenna, Rolf Oberprieler, Ajay Limaye

2021 winners

Randall T. Schuh and Christiane Weirauch

2020 winners

Professor Brett C. Ratcliffe and Dr Ronald D. Cave

2019 winner

Dr Jason P. W. Hall

2018 winners

Frank H. Hennemann, Oskar V. Conle, Paul D. Brock and Francis Seow-Choen

2016 winners

Dr Adam Slipinski and Dr Hermes Escalona

2014 winner

Professor Lee Herman

2012 winner

Dr James S. Miller

2010 winner

Dr Art Borkent

2008 winner

Dr Marianne Horak (Inaugural)

See also