My account Basket

Details and previous winners of the Wigglesworth Memorial Lecture and Award.

Award topicDescription
Award criteriaFor outstanding services to the science of Entomology. The award will be made to a researcher who has contributed outstanding work to the science and who best reflects Sir Vincent Wigglesworth’s standards of personal involvement in every aspect of their research.
PrizeA specially struck gilt medal inscribed with the winners name. Also the costs of attending the International Congress of Entomology to give the Wigglesworth Lecture.
EligibilityLetter of nomination accompanied by at least two letters of support. Typically, the nomination will be in favour of eminent internationally known researchers.
CycleEvery 4 years.
AdjudicationBy RES Council, who, may consult with the presidents of major entomological societies.
EntryNominations to be submitted to the Director of Communications and Engagement up to 18 months before the I.C.E. Latest deadline: 1st February 2023. Winner will be notified no less that 12 months before the I.C.E.

2020 winner

Professor Janet Hemingway, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

2016 winner

John G. Hildebrand, University of Arizona

2012 winner

Stephen J. Simpson, University of Sydney

2008 winner

Jim Truman

2004 winner

Ken Davey

2000 winner

Michael Locke

1996 winner

Peter Lawrence

See also